Saturday, May 9, 2015

Huzzah Hobbies' Road to the NOVA Open 2015 Update 2

Hey all I just wanted to put a post up that there is only 1 week remaining for sign ups! So tell your friends! Remember you can sign up in the store or get instructions for signing up online by emailing me at elphilo40k at gmail dot com.

Also I wanted to inform everyone of some changes that NOVA Open is doing and we're going to follow suit.

First change is the change to D Weapons, here is the change - 
D shots originating from greater than 12" away treat all "6" results as "5" results instead.
D weapons always inflict only D3 Wounds or Hull Points (even on a "6" result). These also still do their penetrating roll on the vehicle damage table.
The next change is detachments. Originally the NOVA allowed 2 detachments of anytype meaning you can double CAD. Now they've changed it. You can still take the double CAD but you're now open to a third detachment. Though the third detachment does have some restrictions -
Your third detachment must not be CAD like. Meaning that if the detachment that you want to take has all 5 choices (HQ, Troop, Elite, Fast Attack, Heavy Support) that is CAD like and not allowed in the third slot. Examples of CAD like detachments are Company of the Great Wolf Detachment (from Champions of Fenris Supplement), Real Space Raiders Detachment (from the Dark Eldar Codex) and Nemesis Strike Force (from the Grey Knights Codex). Now if your detachment doesn't have all 5 choices (HQ, Troop, Elite, Fast Attack, Heavy Support) it is a non-CAD like detachment. Examples of those are Masque Detachment (from the Harlequin Codex), Skitarii Maniple (from the Skitarii Codex) and Officio Assassinorum Detachment (from the Officio Assassinorum Dataslate).
Also please remember that if you take a Combi-Detachment (so far, as of this post, there are only 3, the Necron Decurion Detachment, the Craftworld Warhost from the Eldar Codex and the Blood Host Detachment from the Khrone Daemonkin Codex) then that counts as your two CAD-like detachments you can take. That way you're allowed to take that third detachment in case you want to take another formation or say an assassin.

If you have ANY questions about any of the detachment rules please DON'T hesitate to ask me. You can contact me via email, elphilo40k at gmail dot com.

The third and final update for this post is just an FYI for players. With the release of the new Imperial Knight Codex they have been changed into Super Heavy Lords of War. Meaning they are now banned in the NOVA Open format, so they're going to be banned in this league as well.

Anyway I think that covers it. If you've got any questions at all please don't hesitate to contact me!

No comments:

Post a Comment